Battle of the Liners: NYX v. NYC

Eyeliner has been my shit since I was about 14 and winging it out a la Amy Winehouse (RIP sweet soul) and it’s a makeup must have I can’t live without. From pencil to gel to liquid, I’ve tried and mastered them all over the years. These two brands provide budget friendly brush tip black liners that have been raved about in the beauty community so I put them to the test.

http://images.ulta.com/is/image/Ulta/2242377In one corner, weighing in at .05 oz, is the NYX Collection Noir Liquid Black Liner. This liner is a matte black that comes equipped with a super thin brush that creates fine lines at the flicka da wrist. I’ve gone through two tubes of this stuff. It’s super black and lasts me all day and night without flaking or smudging into the crease of my eyelids. My only wish is that the brush would be just a little bit firmer and not as flimsy so I could put a little more pressure when creating my lines. It dries quickly so if you do happen to mess up, you’ll want to move fast. On the plus side, this will last me all day long and can go out with me at night too. I love that I can easily find this at Ulta or Target for about $6-$7. I’m glad it’s so inexpensive because I will admit that with daily use this liner seems to go “bad” fast and the formula changes into a thinker consistency, making it a little harder to work with and kind of slow drying. By now I’m an eyeliner OG and don’t really care but it’s something to keep in mind if you’re not as experienced with liquid liner.

In the other corner, at .17 fl oz, is NYC Liquid https://i0.wp.com/elitedcmag.com/magazine/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/image.jpegEyeliner. This little guy is super cheap at $2-$3 and I found it at my local Big Lots. One thing I really enjoy about this liner is the brush. It doesn’t pick up too much product and if you don’t wipe it off on the sides of the tube it flattens out a bit which makes it that much easier to create a straight line, especially because the brush tip is a bit stiffer compared to the NYX liner. Admittedly, I was disappointed in the color pay off. I like my liner to be BLACK and I felt like it could’ve been a lot darker. I blame this on its thin and watery consistency. I’ve gone through one tube of this and wore it to work daily. I found that it did fade a little throughout the day, the fading would increase if the weather was hot and I was sweating or if my lids became a little oilier than usual. This liner is so cheap with such an ideal brush that I feel like it would be great for beginners. I think it’s also practical if you’re going to work or running errands for the day, but personally I wouldn’t recommend this for a long day or even a night out because it won’t survive on the dance floor.

The winner: NYX Collection Noir Liquid Black Liner. Its long lasting wear and incredibly black pigment won me over. If you expect as much out of an eyeliner as I do, I’d definitely spend the extra bucks on this tube because it’s not a bank breaker to start with but it’s definitely top shelf quality.

Keep up with me: Twitter Instagram Tumblr

Leave a Reply

